Travel award for members

Travel funds are to be used at the discretion of the successful applicant, including for conference attendance, and/or training, either nationally or internationally.


  • NZPPS welcomes applications from a wide range of members, including technical staff and scientists.
  • Applicants must be current members of NZPPS and have paid ordinary membership for 5+ consecutive years. Contact the secretary to check your eligibility.
  • Recipients of the travel award in the previous 3 years are ineligible to apply.
  • Current Executive members are ineligible to apply.
  • Applicants must describe the value of their proposed travel to plant protection in New Zealand.
  • Applicants will need to list all international scientific research and conference travel they have made in the previous 3 years, as preference will be given to those who have had less opportunity to travel.
  • Applicants will need to have endorsement of their application as a true record from their current employer or direct manager.
  • Funds must be used within 1 year of receipt (normally August).
  • The successful applicant will be required to write a short report for the NZPPS newsletter detailing benefits derived upon their return from travel within 3 weeks. Due to unforeseen circumstances (eg a global pandemic) affecting domestic and or international travel, the award maybe held by the recipient for a maximum of 1 year provided written reason/s are given and accepted by the committee.

Application process

  1. Make your application by clicking here.
  2. Applications must be received by the secretary by 1 July.
  3. A subcommittee from the executive screens application forms that do not meet criteria above and decides finalists.

For enquiries, contact the secretary.

Please note: If you are unable to get additional funding to attend this conference you may apply to the NZPPS Executive to transfer the award to another conference.

Past recipients

  • 2022: Virginia Marroni
  • 2021: Karyn Froud
  • 2020: not awarded due to Covid-19 pandemic
  • 2019: Joel Vanneste
  • 2018: Toni Withers
  • 2017: Reiny Scheper
  • 2016: Stephanie Sopow
  • 2015: Joel Vanneste
  • 2014: Anis Rahman
© 2022 New Zealand Plant Protection Society Inc.
Website by HortPlus